Woman Crush Everyday – Maria Borges

My Woman Crush Everyday today is, Angolan beauty, Maria Borges.

Maria 1

Maria Borges is a supermodel who made history at the 2015 Victoria’s Secret Fashion Show, when she did away with extensions and wore her short, natural hair. A few minutes before the Victoria’s Secret Fashion Show aired on e.tv, I was lauding Victoria’s Secret for including models from around the world in their fashion shows. But I was disappointed that the models portrayed one type of beauty. Little did I Know that Maria Borges was about to make my evening, and prove me wrong.

Maria 4

“I told my agent I wanted to walk in the Victoria’s Secret show with my natural hair. I was nervous, but I had to do it. When they said ‘yes’ I didn’t expect it, but I was so happy!” -Maria Borges

Maria 2

Maria’s advice for black women unsure about wearing their natural hair:

“Be strong. If you say you’re beautiful without hair and makeup, then they will believe you. It’s about being confident and always being yourself.”

Leave a Reply

