I Smoked A Spliff With Jesus Christ

Jesus Christ by James C. Lewis

Jesus Christ by James C. Lewis

I smoked a spliff with Jesus Christ last night.
Then leaned over and stuck my eyes inside his soul.
The father let me take a journey through his pain,
and beside the tears of Judas, I saw my own.

“J” said:

He and man built a nation in my mind.
Where God and Gods ruled for an eternity.
The universe guided us through the in-betweens to find that people needed more than just militancy.

“I could provide nothing more than everything.
The earth gave birth to me, the flesh of natural truth.
And in the hope of feeling light within themselves,
I bled my love for their fears as proof.
By the time I died, I was an ordinary man.
They made me God so they wouldn’t have to do the same.
I lost the pulse of humanity in this religion.
Sometimes I feel it though, in solitudes of pain.”

But he was Jesus, and I’m a sister,
so I’ve been through more shit.
Cuz I’m black, and life is hard in Jozi when you’ve got tits.
So J.C. sparked another cone,
as I told him about this brother
with the rainbow colours in his dome.

My life was prayer to his rhythms, inside him, inside me.
Creation was a haven in his chest.
He was me as a spirit, lover, sister, mother,
friend in arms like no other.
I was born to be the summer in his fingertips.
He in my belly made the moon rise where my midnight sits.
And as he ravaged his way through my mind,
I entertained plastic hopes
to find a future in our path,
but it burned at both ends.
It’s over now and as I sift through lies,
I know I can depend on no love.
For none can replace my own.
And when the tears stopped falling, Jesus took me home.
And then he stepped into the fury of my soul.

“J” said:

“Love is infinite gratitude for the power of the self.
Seek the answers in your own voice before you look to anyone else.
Nurse the child who weeps in the valley of your suffering,
and cleanse her face with ebony rains,
and make way for what the future brings.
Teach her to make love, not to find love.
To be love, not seek love.
To grow love and know love
that she might give love and receive love in due time.
But don’t make martyrs from the flaws of mortal kinds.
Before you let another burn you, think twice.
Remember, no one is worth your paradise.”

So maybe he was right, and maybe I’m all alone.
Maybe we’re both fucked up,
we were both definitely stoned.
It’s just a story about what happened last night.
And how two spirits got real open when the herb was tight!

By: Lebo Mashile

2 responses to “I Smoked A Spliff With Jesus Christ

Leave a Reply

